CFB Hall of Fame class includes Carson Palmer, Tony Romo

Ross Houston
January 14, 2021

Palmer won the Heisman in 2002 for the Trojans and went on to be the first overall pick in the 2003 National Football League draft by the Cincinnati Bengals.

According to the NFF, The 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class will officially be inducted during the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 7th, 2021 alongside the 2020 Hall of Fame Class (the 2020 event was canceled due to COVID-19).

Former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo is set to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a member of the 2021 class, per CBS announcer Jim Nantz via Sports Illustrated.

North Carolina offensive tackle Harris Barton, Arizona State defensive back David Fulcher, Miami linebacker Dan Morgan, Texas defensive tackle Kenneth Sims, Notre Dame offensive tackle Aaron Taylor and Iowa defensive end Andre Tippett rounded out the player inductees for the 2021 class.

The victor of the 2002 Walter Payton Award as the top player in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Tony Romo goes down as one of the greatest players in Eastern Illinois history.

Stoops was part of Fry's coaching staff that included the likes of current Iowa football head coach Kirk Ferentz, former Kansas State football head coach Bill Snyder, and former Wisconsin football head coach Barry Alvarez.

The two former Hawkeyes were recognized for their contributions to college football on Monday.

Stoops and Tippett were teammates on the Iowa's Big Ten championship team in 1981.

Sproles later went on to have an impressive 15-season career as a National Football League player. He still holds the franchise record for sacks with 100.

In 2009, Spiller was a unanimous first-team All-America selection as a kick returner and a second-team selection at running back by Walter Camp, making him the first player in the organization's history to earn All-America honors at two positions in the same season. His career all-purpose yardage total ranked fifth in NCAA history at the time of his departure, while his 2003 output was fourth.

He finished his career as the team's all-time leader in passing yards and passing touchdowns while leading them to the playoffs four times and earning four trips to the Pro Bowl.

Other reports by iNewsToday