Two Provinces Just Announced They're Backing Out Of The Atlantic Travel Bubble

Andrew Cummings
November 23, 2020

The provinces joined the Atlantic bubble in July, which allowed residents of the Atlantic provinces to travel freely between the provinces without self-isolating. Of those, 67 cases are considered resolved. Chief Medical Officer of Health Dr.

As of 12:01 a.m. Wednesday, people arriving in Newfoundland and Labrador from within the Atlantic bubble will be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

The move comes in response to the rising number of COVID-19 cases in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, with community spread being reported in both of the neighbouring provinces.

The province now has two active cases of the novel coronavirus.

The island's last positive COVID-19 test was reported on November 11 and involved a man in his 30s who is a rotational worker.

Prince Edward Island Premier Dennis King announced today his province is suspending all non-essential travel to the Island for two weeks. "On a couple of different occasions (on Sunday), I spoke to my fellow Atlantic premiers and we all agreed that it was important. we take all necessary precautions in our respective provinces to keep our residents safe". "People coming to do essential work will continue to be eligible to work-isolate".

Morrison said it is likely the island may see new positive cases related to the exposures and outbreaks happening in other parts of the country. Furey is also encouraging work camps to switch to one-month-on, one-month-off rotations to make life easier for rotational workers.

Anyone travelling to the province will be required to self-isolate or can apply to work-isolate for 14 days.

A Nova Scotia spokeswoman said at lunchtime that the province is sticking with just issuing a reminder to limit non-essential travel at this point, not implementing further restrictions.

Other reports by iNewsToday