Dangerfield, Reeve named 2020 WNBA rookie, coach of the year

Ross Houston
September 20, 2020

Minnesota Lynx Head Coach and General Manager Cheryl Reeve won the 2020 WNBA Coach of the Year award and guard Crystal Dangerfield won the 2020 Rookie of the Year award in a COVID-19 shortened WNBA season. Dangerfield was the runaway victor for rookie of the year.

One of them is Dangerfield, by far the lowest draft pick ever to win WNBA rookie of the year.

Parker led the WNBA with 10 double-double performances and Vandersloot became the first WNBA player to average double-digit assists (10.0) in a season, but the WNBA MVP race was essentially a two-player contest between Wilson and Stewart.

Dangerfield particularly excelled in the fourth quarter, scoring the second-most total points in the league in the final period behind only Arike Ogunbwale.

Dangerfield received 44 votes. Atlanta Dream guard Chennedy Carter, the No. 4 draft pick, was second with two votes, and Dallas Wings forward Satou Sabally, the No. 2 draft pick, was third with one vote.

Reeve helped the Lynx to the No. 4 seed in the playoffs despite missing their star center to a calf injury for more than half of the season.

Reeve received 25 votes from a national panel of 47 sportswriters and broadcasters.

Las Vegas' Bill Laimbeer was second in voting, and Los Angeles' Derek Fisher and Washington's Mike Thibault tied for third.

The WNBA announced its first three major awards for the 2020 regular season on Thursday, as A'ja Wilson of the Las Vegas Aces was named league MVP after leading her team to the No. 1 overall seed in the playoffs in her third season.

Wilson averaged 20.5 points, 8.5 rebounds, 2.0 assists, 2.0 blocked shots and 1.23 steals in 31.7 minutes per game this season. Wilson was second on the other four ballots.

Wilson was surprised with the award on Thursday by WNBA Commissioner Cathy Engelbert.

A'ja Wilson came to what she thought was going to be a meeting with WNBA officials.

Dangerfield is the fifth Lynx player to win rookie of the year, joining Betty Lennox (1999), Seimone Augustus (2006), Maya Moore (2011) and Napheesa Collier (2019).

Other reports by iNewsToday