NY to require tracking info from travelers

Andrew Cummings
July 14, 2020

Asked about the number of warnings or citations that have been issued to any visitors who do not self-quarantine for 14 days after they land in New York, Caitlin Girouard, a spokesperson for Cuomo, replied to NPR by email: "We refer all cases where a quarantine is necessary to the local health department for compliance and follow up".

"Out-of-state travelers from designated high-COVID states must provide their contact information upon arrival", Cuomo said on Monday.

Cuomo says people who refuse to fill out the traveler form will face a fine of $2,000, and will be placed on mandatory quarantine.

Travelers entering NY via the airport can be subjected to a $2,000 fine and mandatory quarantine if they fail to provide location information before leaving the airport.

Travelers arriving in NY from states on the quarantine list by other methods, including trains and cars, must also fill out the form and complete the quarantine.

"We have already implemented a quarantine order for travelers coming in from states with the highest infection rates, but we are experiencing non-compliance with the order that can lead to outbreaks and threaten the tremendous progress we've already made", said Cuomo.

New York, previously the epicenter of the pandemic, has seen cases decline over the last two months while infections rose across the country.

Starting Tuesday, teams that include police officers will meet passengers at arrival gates to check if the travel form has been completed on paper or online, New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced Monday.

At the time of the announcement, the hot spot states were Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas.

In New York City, even the Empire State Building is getting ready to welcome guests back to its iconic observation deck on July 20. The online form is the only option for people coming into the state by vehicle or train.

Cuomo calls the virus returning to NY via air travelers a very real threat.

Airports in Albany, Syracuse, Rochester, Buffalo, Niagara Falls, Westchester County and Long Island will have enforcement teams on site daily to meet flights from states on New York's current quarantine list.

The travel advisory includes guidance on how to safely self-quarantine and the traveler form is also available electronically.

Other reports by iNewsToday