Eight more states added to New York's mandatory quarantine list

Cheryl Sanders
July 1, 2020

Andrew Cuomo just added Georgia to a list of 13 other states who must have residents self-quarantine for 14 days before a visit to NY state. No states on the initial list were dropped.

The eight additional states are California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee, all of which are contending with growing caseloads, Cuomo said in a statement. They join Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah.

Levels necessitating quarantine are based on a seven-day rolling average of either 10% statewide infection or a new-case rate of 10 per 100,000 residents.

This morning's announcement means 16 states are now under the travel advisory. Oklahoma has a origin-specific rule similar to the NY region rule, which also lists California as a high-risk state, triggering quarantine orders.

Any travelers from states that meet either of the two thresholds on coronavirus infection rates are being told they have to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arriving in Connecticut, New York, or New Jersey.

In her press conference today, Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds announced the positive test rate in Iowa was just over five percent during yesterday's testing. Those found breaching the quarantine order could face fines, Cuomo has said.

In late March, the federal government issued similar guidelines for New York, New Jersey and CT residents, asking that they avoid non-essential travel and self-quarantine for 14 days if travel was necessary.

"Visitors to NJ from the following states are advised to observe at 14-day self-quarantine period", Murph said as he released the identical list released earlier by Cuomo.

Other reports by iNewsToday