Facebook to Allow Users to Mass-Delete or Hide Posts

Yolanda Curtis
June 3, 2020

In a blog post about the new tools - created to protect users privacy - Facebook has stated: "We know that people's posts from years ago may not represent who they are now - e.g. old Facebook statuses from university". The new option to hide older Facebook posts is now available via the newly launched Manage Activity interface. As the name suggests, Manage Activity on Facebook will let you "manage" the kind of stuff that you had once posted, and might now find embarrassing, awkward or whatever adjective you may want to attach to such stuff. To hide a post you must choose to archive it, which means that the post will no longer be visible to others, but it remains stored on your Facebook account.

In addition to letting users delete posts in bulk, the update - which expands on Facebook's "Manage Activity function" - will also give people the option to sort their posts by a time range.


Facebook Manage Activity feature will be available first on mobile, and will be available coming to desktop and Facebook Lite in the future. If you want to get rid of a post you made on your News Feed or a photo you shared for good, you can send it to the trash.

If you want to preserve a post, but don't want the public to see it anymore, you can also archive it.


Such tools could prove useful to those looking to clean up their social media presence ahead of job interviews by making it impossible to find old posts of parties, nights out or fancy dress that could show them in a negative light.

They can then select whether to archive or trash those posts. Deleted posts will hang out for 30 days before being wiped and users can either restore them or manually delete them from there. His previously published work can be found on TechHive, VentureBeat and Game Rant.


Other reports by iNewsToday

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER