Greece selects 29 countries whose tourists can fly in starting June 15

Cheryl Sanders
May 30, 2020

From the middle of next month, tourists from the following country will be able to enter airports at Athens and Thessaloniki: Albania, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Estonia, Japan, Israel, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Finland, Latvia, Lebanon, New Zealand, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Norway, North Macedonia, South Korea, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Greece will begin the gradual opening of its borders to visitors as of June 15, Tourism Minister Harry Theoharis told CNN in an interview, following restrictions over the Covid-19 pandemic.

The first list will be expanded by July 1, when worldwide direct flights to all Greek airports will start, the ministry added, stressing that "evaluation based on epidemiological data will be constant".

Greece has announced plans to open up and allow tourists to visit its most popular destinations. Italy and Spain were once among the most affected by the virus and while their number of cases remain very high, some areas have started to see a noticeable drop.

Visitors arriving from those countries could be subject to sample coronavirus testing, the ministry said.

Friday's developments leave potential holidaymakers from Belgium, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom doubly thwarted in their destinations - unless they're happy to spend a fortnight in Bulgarian quarantine. COVID-19 death toll in the country stands at 175, while in the past few weeks fewer cases and deaths have been reported. The numbers are far lower than other parts of Europe.

Other reports by iNewsToday