Kohli, Rahul, Kuldeep and Pant in squad for Bangladesh T20Is

Ross Houston
February 27, 2020

The reason why the Pakistan players have not been included in Asia XI is that they are now taking part in the ongoing edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) which concludes on March 22.

Be that as it may, the Pakistan Cricket Board had explained that it wasn't about the BCB picking BCCI over PCB and it was an instance of the Pakistan players being inaccessible as they would be caught up with playing in the Pakistan Super League.

File image of Virat Kohli.

However, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has made it clear that Kohli's selection is subject to confirmation.

Ahead of the series, India would fare against South Africa in a three-match ODI series, the last game of whose clashes with the first Asia XI-World XI T20 on March 18.

It remains to be seen if Virat Kohli makes him available for the games scheduled in Dhaka between March 18 to 22.

As far as the hosts are concerned, opening batsman Tamim Iqbal, wicket-keeper batsmen in Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Das and pacer Mustafizur Rahman will take the field in the iconic series. "We have finalised with Sandeep Lamichhane along with Lasith Malinga and Thisara Perera from Sri Lanka as well", Nazmul said.

Afghanistan's Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman have also been drafted in the squad along with Nepal stalwart Sandeep Lamichhane. We haven't signed contracts but Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan and Mohammad Shami are supposed to come. They have said KL Rahul and Virat Kohli will play one game each, but that hasn't been finalised. The squad does not have any Pakistan players. Definitely, there will be the same number of players from West Indies.

Bangladesh Cricket Board President Najmul Hasan said that he has picked the best players of recent cricket. "As Pakistan is having the PSL, they are uncertain". "We will invite some of the cricketing greats", Hassan went on to conclude.

A look at the World XI squad: Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Ross Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Adil Rashid, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Other reports by iNewsToday