Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces 2020 class

Carla Harmon
January 15, 2020

Whitney Houston, whose powerhouse rendition of "I Will Always Love You" jumped off 1992's The Bodyguard soundtrack to become one of the best selling singles ever, is among the 2020 inductees of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The noms also reach across several time periods, with the Doobie Brothers and T. Rex dating primarily from the 1970s, new wave icons Depeche Mode and pop superstar Houston from the '80s and '90s, and alternative-rock titans Nine Inch Nails and Notorious B.I.G. dating from the '90s and, in the former case, into the '00s. Famed music managers Jon Landau and Irving Azoff will also be honored in specialty categories.

The latest slate of inductees leaves behind the Dave Matthews Band, Kraftwerk, Motörhead, Thin Lizzy, MC5, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren and Judas Priest, who were among 16 acts on the final nomination ballot that didn't make the cut for induction in 2020.

The 35th Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on May 2, 2020 at Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio - the site of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The Hall will announce the performers, presenters and other guests in the weeks leading up to the event. So did T. Rex, although the influential glam-rock band has been eligible since way back in 1993. Houston, Notorious B.I.G., T. Rex and the Doobie Brothers are all first-time nominees.

To qualify for a nod, artists must have released their first commercial work at least 25 years ago.

Inductees were selected by a group of 1,000-plus artists, including living inductees, historians and members of the music industry.

Other reports by iNewsToday