Indian spearhead Jasprit Bumrah to be bestowed with Polly Umrigar from BCCI

Ross Houston
January 14, 2020

Apart from Bumrah, the Indian women's cricket team's leg-spinner Poonam Yadav, who had been recently granted the Arjuna Award, will likely to be because of the prize for Best Women's International Cricketer.

India's frontrunner Jasprit Bumrah will receive the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award for his achievements in global cricket in the 2018-19 season, the BCCI said on Sunday.

Jasprit Bumrah made his test debut in South Africa tour of India in January 2018. Mayank Agarwal, who emerged as an impression batsman beginning along with his debut sequence in Australia in 2018-19, acquired one of the best worldwide debut in males's class whereas proficient 15-year-old Shafali Verma grabbed the identical within the girls's class.

At the domestic circuit, overall she scored 1,923 runs at 46.90 in 46 matches with seven centuries and five half-centuries including One Day and T20 (She played Senior, U23, U19).

Bumrah will also be presented the Dilip Sardesai Award for taking maximum wickets 34 wickets from six Tests at an average of 14.02.

In other prestigious awards, former Indian skipper Krishnamachari Srikkanth would be awarded the Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award. The opener has scored 872 runs from nine matches at an impressive average of 67.07 with two double centuries.

Indian test starter Mayank Agarwal, who has recently given the spotlight for good results in a row, is awarded the prize for the best global debut in the men's category, while Shafali Verma receives the award in the women's category. Shafali had accumulated 222 runs from nine T20Is.

Mumbai all-rounder Shivam Dube, who impressed in the recently concluded T20 series against Sri Lanka, was presented the Lala Amarnath Award for the best all-rounder in the Ranji Trophy while Delhi's Nitish Rana received the same for doing well in the limited overs competition.

In the Women's team, Jhulan Goswami and Smrithi Mandhana were awarded for being the highest wicket-taker and the highest run-scorer respectively. Vidarbha were rewarded for best performance in BCCI domestic tournaments.

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly mentioned, "The BCCI Awards is our way of recognising the finest on-field performances right from the age group to senior level and also honour our legends".

Other reports by iNewsToday