Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic drawn in same ATP finals group

Ross Houston
November 7, 2019

Federer has won the ATP Finals a record six times in his career - last winning the title in 2011 - while Djokovic has won it five times.

Nadal declared himself fit for the finals yesterday after he pulled out of last week's Paris Masters semifinals - a scan revealed a "slight strain to the left abdominal".

Federer is set to play against Serbian Novak Djokovic, Austrian Dominic Thiem and Italian Matteo Berrettini. It could have gone both ways, either way Ias going to play world No. 1 or a recap of the final in my first match. Given his success at the tournament, on the surface, and this season, the Serb begins as the favorite for a sixth title and a sixth year end as the number one player in the world.

Nadal, 33, has overtaken Djokovic at the top of the world rankings but would need to reach the final and win all three of his group matches to guarantee staying at No.1.

Andre Agassi Group consists of world number one Rafael Nadal, Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and reigning champion Alexander Zverev.

The seeding for the finals saw Nadal out in front, with Roger Federer bound to have been disappointed to be slated as only the third-best shot on a hard court service.

With all of the ATP Finals players hailing from Europe for the first time in the competition's history, eight terrific tennis talents will do battle to make the last 64 ranking events worth every drop of sweat, every swiftly-scoffed banaa, every twist, turn, run and cross-court volley worth it. In another scenario, if Nadal does not reach the semi-finals and Djokovic wins the tournament, the latter will get back to the top.

2018 Next Gen Finals victor Tsitsipas is another member of Next Gen who has had a strong season defeating all members of the Big Three, adding to his ATP title bag, being an Australian Open semi-finalist and after a mid-season dip in form, recovering well during the Asian and indoor swing to make the semi-finals and finals of ATP 500 and Masters tournaments.

Other reports by iNewsToday