Rapper Dave wins UK Mercury Prize as PM gets slammed

Carla Harmon
September 20, 2019

Psychodrama, Dave's highly anticipated maiden album, arrived in March.

Little Simz was in contention for her album Grey Area, Anna Calvi for Hunter, Idles for their success Joy As An Act Of Resistance, Slowthai for Nothing Great About Britain, Dave for Psychodrama, and Cate Le Bon for Reward.

Accepting the award, he said: "I are attempting to thank God".

The prestigious Mercury Prize, first established in 1992 and previously known as the Mercury Music Prize, is awarded annually for the best album released by a British or Irish act.

"I are attempting to thank my brother Christopher".

The Mercury Prize is an honour given to the best album released in the United Kingdom by a British or Irish act, and has run since 1992.

"This is your story that we told, even though you can't be here", Dave said.

Chosen from the 12 shortlisted artists, Dave used to be rapturously received by the target market on the Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith, London.

Tyron Frampton, better known by his stage name "slowthai" screamed "f*** Boris" before his Mercury Prize performance and the audience responded with rapturous applause.

"This is surreal, a massive honour", he said backstage after the ceremony.

"They recognize the craft and the art, so so as to repay every thing they attach in, it formula basically the most".

"I find it [expletive] that the government is struggling / To care for a person that cares for a person", said the musician, whose mother is a nurse.

At the end, he punched the air with a dummy severed head of the prime minister, before shouting, "f*** Boris" and adding, "there's Nothing Great About Britain" - the title of the album he was nominated for.

Nao's Saturn and Unlit Midi's liberate Schlagenheim were also nominated.

"Social tensions are high, and to award this behaviour with a Mercury Prize is highly irresponsible".

It was the 28th year of the Mercury Prize, with previous winners including Pulp, Dizzee Rascal, Elbow, Skepta, Arctic Monkeys and last year's victors, Wolf Alice.

Other reports by iNewsToday