XFL Team Names & Logos Revealed: Dragons, Roughnecks & More

Ross Houston
August 21, 2019

The XFL has officially announced the franchise names for their eight football teams.

Raymond James Stadium, which also houses South Florida and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, will be the site of Vipers home games beginning in 2020.

The league revealed each team's logo on Twitter. Cold-blooded by nature. Luring all who challenge them into the jaws of defeat.

The XFL is less than a year away from its inaugural season, but the league just took another major step toward giving fans a vision of its product.

The XFL will kick off on Saturday, February 8, 2020.

Each team will have 40-man rosters and players signed to contracts with salaries averaging around $75,000 Dollars.

Founder of Alpha Entertainment LLC Vince McMahon, who owns the XFL, promised that although the league shares its previous trademark, it won't rely on the entertainment features that emphasized violence as part of its original identity.

The XFL recently announced its first signing in quarterback Landry Jones. Games will air weekly on ABC and FOX, complemented by games on cable ESPN, ESPN2, FS1 and FS2.

Plans include a 25-second clock between plays - which is 15 seconds less than the National Football League, multiple forward passes as long as the players remain behind the line of scrimmage and a creative solution for overtime. The team will call CenturyLink Field home. The team with the most points at the end wins.

The XFL will air its (second) inaugural season on ESPN, ABC, Fox and Fox Sports 1, kicking off February 8 and 9, 2020.

Other reports by iNewsToday