Andros Townsend blast on shortlist for best goal

Ross Houston
August 20, 2019

Kompany's effort was not included int he Puskas Award list.

Last year's victor was Mohamed Salah for his goal vs Everton in Liverpool's 1-0 win over their close rivals. Fan voting determines the final three goals up for the award, and a Federation Internationale de Football Association panel of "legends" will determine the victor from those final three.

Townsend came out of nowhere in the 35th minute to catch Bernardo Silva's headed clearance perfectly on the volley with his left foot and send the ball flying into the top right corner, putting the Eagles into a 2-1 lead at the Etihad Stadium.

Ibrahimovic won the award in 2013 for his memorable long-range volley for Sweden against England, while Messi has been nominated for a seventh time but has yet to win it.

Three stunning goals scored by women during the last calendar year - Cameroon forward Ajara Nchout, Utah Royals winger Amy Rodriguez and Cliftonville Ladies defender Billie Simpson - have also been nominated.

Andros Townsend's stunning goal for Crystal Palace against Manchester City on December 22 is one of 10 nominees for the 2019 FIFA Puskas Award.

The other two candidates are Juventus' Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk.

Watch everything (Netflix, BBC iPlayer, Hulu) online using a VPN.

A VPN keeps your information private, activity encrypted & data anonymous. Fabio Quagliarella In SAMPDORIA 3-0 Napoli 6.

Other reports by iNewsToday