Goa CM Meets Amit Shah, 10 Congress MLAs Formally Join BJP

Cheryl Sanders
July 13, 2019

Breather for Congress-JD (S) ruling combine as the Supreme Court said that it needed to be examined if Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar required time to decide on disqualification of the MLAs.

The party had formed government in a post-poll alliance with 37-member JD (S) in May a year ago after the Assembly polls threw up a hung House.

Former Karnataka Chief Minister and Congress leader Siddaramaiah on Friday said that he is confident that the JD (S)-Congress will win a vote of confidence in the Assembly.

Even as the Congress was grappling with the Karnataka crisis, its 10 MLAs, led by Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Chandrakant Kavlekar, quit the party on Wednesday.

He submitted that the order passed in the morning was based upon submissions made by the rebel MLAs without reference to several directly relevant articles of the Constitution, which oblige the Speaker to perform his constitutional duties under the Article 190 (1) (B) as well as the 10th schedule of the Constitution.

After the 2017 polls, a hung Assembly emerged, with the Congress winning 17 seats and the BJP 13. Two legislators had left the party earlier.

Congress MPs held a protest against the ruling BJP in the Parliament complex on Thursday over the political crisis which has hit the party in Karnataka and Goa.

He recalled that in 2009-10, 18 MLAs, including some ministers, had "opposed" the then chief minister BS Yeddyurappa of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) but he had not resigned. Besides, there are five MLAs of the Congress and one each of the NCP and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party in the House.

The stunned party's woes increased with its President Rahul Gandhi tendering his resignation from the post immediately after the poll results came on May 23, creating a sort of vacuum in the leadership and uncertainty among the cadres.

After the conversation between the two leaders, the Trinamool worked the phones to call other parties to arrange for a joint protest. "These people are the party's leaders", CPI (M) leader and Chief Minister of Kerala Pinarayi Vijayan slammed the grand old party on Friday. "We are confident and prepared for smooth and fruitful conduct of legislative sessions", Kumaraswamy said ahead of the commencement of the monsoon session of the legislative assembly.

He had said that it was because of them that the Congress won only one seat in the recent Lok Sabha elections out of 28 seats in Karnataka, despite bagging 79 out of 225 seats in the Assembly elections held previous year.

Other reports by iNewsToday