Bruins' Sweeney wins GM of the Year honors

Ross Houston
June 22, 2019

Nikita Kucherov dominated the NHL Awards on Wednesday.

It was the third time in a week O'Reilly, who won the Conn Smythe Trophy as the playoffs' most valuable player and won the Stanley Cup on TD Garden's ice, has bested a Bruin.

Giordano led the Flames to the best record in the Western Conference this past season.

Meanwhile, Patrice Bergeron was beaten out for the Selke Award by St. Louis Blues forward Ryan O'Reilly.

For assembling the roster that reached the Stanley Cup Final Boston Bruins executive Don Sweeney was named the NHL's General Manager of the Year at the league's annual awards ceremony in Las Vegas. The Hart Trophy is awarded to the player who is considered to be the Most Valuable Player in the National Hockey League. The Russian goalie led the National Hockey League with 39 victories for the powerhouse Lightning while posting a 2.40 goals-against average and a.925 save percentage in 53 games. Giordano beat out the last two winners of the Norris: San Jose's Brent Burns and Tampa Bay's Victor Hedman.

Sweeney told reporters in Vancouver, where the NHL Draft begins Friday, that hasn't informed any of the B's unrestricted free agents (Johansson, Noel Acciari, Steven Kampfer, Zane McIntyre) of the team's plans regarding returns or departures.

FLYERS: Philadelphia signed center Kevin Hayes to a $50 million, seven-year contract. The fifth overall pick in 2017 by the Canucks, Pettersson collected a rookie-best 28 goals and 38 assists. "A big part of this award goes to you guys".

The NHL hands out its regular-season trophies Wednesday night at a star-studded event hosted by Kenan Thompson and featuring presenters ranging from Canadian game show host Alex Trebek to St. Louis Blues superfan Jon Hamm. The Lidkoping, Sweden, native notched eight multi-point games this season, tied with Orr for the second-most by an 18-year-old blueliner in League history.

Other reports by iNewsToday