WC 2030: Morocco to bid after failing to secure 2026

Ross Houston
June 15, 2018

The North America bid received 134 of the 203 votes, while Morocco polled 65 in the vote of the FIFA Congress in Moscow which saw one member vote for "neither bid".

We never fail, and it will be a great World Cup! Their lone opponent was Morocco.

"Hosting the 2026 World Cup is a rare and important moment to demonstrate that we are all truly united through sport", USA soccer federation president Carlos Cordeiro said after the win.

Morocco, that promised "a European style World Cup", once left the African Union before coming back.

The final will be held at MetLife Stadium which is the home of the New York Giants and New York Jets of the National Football League (NFL).

With files from Rob Williams. "We are pleased The United Bid Committee (UBC) has been awarded hosting rights for the 2026 FIFA World Cup".

Diego Maradona has launched a harsh attack on the countries that will host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

Trump has previously warned that he will cut aid for countries that may vote against the joint North American bid.

"Thank you for the incredible privilege", said Carlos Cordeiro, the president of US Soccer in a short, appreciative speech to the Federation Internationale de Football Association members after the vote. Venues for the United bid will be picked from existing stadiums or new ones under construction. The World Cup will go from a 32-team tournament to 48, however the victor will play the same amount of games (7) as they do now.

"It is unfortunate that Morocco was representing a bid for Africa but their loss should also be a learning experience", the former Kenyan FA chief said in a statement, as per Goal. Group A is also one of, if not the weakest in the World Cup. This announcement marks the beginning of a lengthy process to determine what cities will host games in the tournament.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup, the first-ever hosted by Russia, will be held between June 14 and July 15, 2018, in 11 Russian cities - Moscow, St. Petersburg, Kazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Yekaterinburg, Samara, Sochi and Rostov-on-Don.

Other reports by iNewsToday