Ram Nath Kovind has heft to deal with opposition

Yolanda Curtis
July 21, 2017

Congratulating the President-elect, Meira Kumar said it had fallen on Kovind to uphold the Constitution in letter and spirit in "these challenging times". Candies have been distributed in the parliament house before the results and Narendra Modi tweeted congratulations to Mr. Kovind for winning the elections and wished him a fruitful & inspiring tenure. After getting elected as India's 14th President, Ram Nath Kovind thanked all the citizens of India.

The PM also congratulated Opposition candidate Kumar for her "democratic values".

BJP chief Amit Shah tweeted, "I am sure Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji will distinguish himself as an exceptional President of our nation".

Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji on being elected the President of India!

This was revealed during counting of votes for the Presidential election when it was found that of 181 votes polled, Kovind secured 132 votes and Meira Kumar 49 votes.

Ram Nath Kovind is second dalit after K.R. Narayanan, and first BJP member to be President. The NDA candidates got the votes of 522 MPs of Parliament.

A total of 4,895 voters - 4,120 MLAs and 776 elected MPs - were eligible to vote. MLCs of states with the legislative council are not part of the electoral college. In states like West Bengal (TMC-ruled), Karnataka (Cong-ruled) and Punjab (Cong-ruled), Kumar was able to get more votes than Kovind. He succeeds our current President of India Mr. Pranab Mukherjee whose term will end on 24th July.

Who will win the next presidential election?

Kovind, a lawyer, was born into a humble farmer's family in Uttar Pradesh, a northern state that is also the country's most populous.

In Bihar, the opposition's appeal for "conscience voting", especially to JD (U) legislators after Nitish Kumar made a decision to support Kovind, fell on deaf ears.

India is all set to get its 14th President today as the counting of ballots for the presidential election began at 11 AM.

The presidential election was held Monday but counting votes did not start until Thursday morning.

Other reports by iNewsToday