PM Modi congratulates BJP workers on party's Foundation Day

Cheryl Sanders
April 6, 2017

Bhubaneswar: The 38 foundation day of the state unit of BJP was celebrated in a grand way today here with members gearing up for its two-day national executive meeting scheduled next week. Considering the present political scenario in the Northeast Indian region, BJP has already started eyeing on other non-BJP ruled states and it will not be wrong to say that Meghalaya will be on its hit list owing to its 2018 Assembly elections. Now the largest political party in India, BJP was founded in 1980 when the Indian National Congress was the only prominent face of Indian politics. However, after the massive defeat of the party in the 1984 elections, the BJP decided to make amends to its political doctrine.

"Before my day long Jharkhand tour, going to BJP HQ to offer tributes to our inspiration, Pt Deen Dayal Upadhyaya ji on BJP's Sthapana Diwas", he said in a series of tweet.

In the 12th Lok Sabha election, BJP won 182 seats and Vajpayee became the prime minister of a coalition government with the National Democratic Alliance (NDA). The 1980s being a time of severe Hindu-Muslim clashes in the country, the party found an ideal dispute to uphold as its political mandate in the Ram Janmabhoomi movement, initiated by the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP).

The BJP has come to embody the spirit of India with its intrinsic diversity and vibrancy, representing and responding to the New India as envisaged by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Immediately following its inception, the BJP maintained a softer position on Hindu nationalism, founding its ideological base in Gandhian socialism under party president Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

The BJP Nagaland will celebrate the anniversary at its state office in Dimapur on April 6 at 11:00 am.

After its massive and historical win in Assam, BJP then went on to set foot in Arunachal Pradesh when Pema Khandu, the chief minister who initially belonged to People's Party of Arunachal (PPA) shifted his allegiance to the BJP.

Other reports by iNewsToday