UP Elections: Campaigning for phase 6 ended

Andrew Cummings
March 4, 2017

Prominent candidates in the phase are jailed mafia don Mukhtar Ansari from Mau and his don Abbas from Ghosi seat on BSP ticket, former UP Legislative Council chairman Ganesh Shanker Pandey from Paniyara seat on BSP ticket, former UP Assembly Speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar from Didarganj seat, former leader of the Opposition in the state Assembly and now BJP candidate Swami Prasad Maurya from Padrauna seat, jailed Amanmani Tripathi, son of murder convict Amarmani Tripathi, contesting from Nautanwa seat. Indo-Nepal border with Maharajganj and Gorakhpur, and border with Bihar have been sealed.

Around 1.72 crore voters, including 94.60 lakh male and 77.84 lakh female, are eligible to decide the fate of 635 candidates.

The voting will take place in Mau, Ballia, Azamgarh, Deoria, Kushinagar, Maharajganj and Gorakhpur districts in the Poorvanchal region.

This phase will test the political influence of Union minister Kalraj Mishra, who is MP from Deoria, Mahant Adityanath of Gorakhpur and Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav, who represents Azamgarh parliamentary constituency.

There will be 17,926 polling booths in this phase.

In the sixth phase, people living in Northeast Uttar Pradesh will cast their votes to select 49 candidates from seven districts going to poll on March 4.

Central Para Military Forces have already reached the constituencies and carried out flag march in sensitive areas.

Asked if the results will be seen as people's response to the Narendra Modi government's work, he said they will put their stamp of approval on its two-and-a-half-year tenure in these elections.

Alleging that the rate for every job is fixed in UP, Modi said, "If you want to lodge a police complaint or even if you don't want to get it lodged at a police station, it's fixed as to how much you have to give".

Today is the first phase of the Manipur Assembly polls.

Following the Bihar experience, the BJP strategists had decided not to overplay the Prime Minister in UP.

Counting for elections held in all the five states - Goa, Punjab, Manipur, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh - will be held on March 11. BJP president Amid Shah held a roadshow in Gorakhpur while other leaders including SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, Congress vice- president Rahul Gandhi too addressed several meetings to wind up their canvassing. But after the SP-Congress alliance, the electoral scenario in UP changed and the BJP apparently had "no option but to rely on the Prime Minister" and the saffron think tank made a decision to increase his rallies in the state from 10 to 22.

Other reports by iNewsToday