Australia lose Marsh to injury

Ross Houston
August 30, 2016

Australia moved 2-1 ahead in their one-day series with Sri Lanka as Tillakaratne Dilshan bowed out with a loss.

He will play the two Twenty20 matches against Australia next month before retiring from worldwide cricket. For the second time in this series - and the fourth time on the tour, Tests included - Starc struck in the first over of an innings. Nathan Coulter-Nile, too, faces a long injury lay-off with a lumbar bone stress injury to his lower back.

David Warner debuted as skipper following Steve Smith's sudden return home mid-week, and a high-energy showing in the field resulted in Sri Lanka being bowled out for 226 off 49.2 overs. I went to Australia, scored 500 runs, and became Man of the Series. Warner has managed just 19 runs in the series and will have to lift his game in Wednesday's crucial encounter.

Bailey, whose 142-ball stay was laced with five boundaries, held fort as he got Matthew Wade for company and the batsmen put on 81 to keep the visitors in sight of their target.

The latest entry into this elite club was Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan, who recently announced his retirement.

But the contributions from the rest of Sri Lanka's batsmen were disappointing.

Bailey, who himself led Australia in 29 ODIs between 2013 and 2015, has had a good year with the bat in 2016, scoring 520 runs from 16 games at an average of 37.14.

Dilshan still has two more T20 matches to play before he becomes an ex-cricketer across formats.

With Dilshan retiring, the Lankan team management will look to secure a settled opening combination which might see Kusal Perera move back to the top of the order.

Australia is a win away from a tour-redeeming series victory.

"Due to the above situation, contingency measures were taken to protect the playing area and the two teams, which was considered as a priority for the continuation of the game", it added.

Angelo Mathews, Amila Aponso and Dilruwan Perera claimed two wickets each on the evening for the Sri Lankans while Seekkuge Prasanna and Dhananjaya de Silva also had one wicket each to show for their efforts.

Other reports by iNewsToday