LPGA golfer adds 58 penalty strokes after realizing rules violation

Ross Houston
October 19, 2019

She took another 16 penalty strokes in the second round before learning of the rule and finished with a 90.

The 54-year-old Alfredsson, a native of Sweden who played at U.S. International University in San Diego, came from two strokes down to win the Senior LPGA Championship by three shots over Juli Inkster in cold and windy conditions on the Pete Dye Course at French Lick Resort http://www.frenchlick.com/golf in French Lick, Ind.

That wasn't the idea when she made a decision to play in the Senior LPGA.


Helen Alfredsson's page on Wikipedia says she is retired, but you wouldn't have known it this year.

McGill, 47, said she doesn't get to compete a lot anymore, spending her time as a mom and a golf teacher to young children who are just getting into the game.

"What can you do at that point?" "Obviously, it's my fault for not knowing the rules, but what am I going to do?"


"All the gals are excited to be here at French Lick and the Senior LPGA Championship, and it's a fun opportunity to go out and see what kind of golf scores we can shoot". I don't have anyone to blame but myself. Previously, once she realized she should have added penalty strokes, Walker would have been disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.

"Instead, if the mistake is found before the close of the competition, the Committee will revise the player's scores for that hole or holes by adding the penalty strokes that should have been included in the score for that hole or holes under the Rules". The scorecard from the first round featured six 9s, an 8 and four 7s.

"Because it was a DQ and I wasn't injured - I wasn't going to withdraw with an injury - that was my score, and everyone gets to see it", Walker said.


"I'm glad I went". "Everything was great except for my penalties".

Other reports by iNewsToday

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER