Instagram will now warn you before disabling your account

Yolanda Curtis
July 20, 2019

Instagram said it'll notify users if their account is at risk of being removed along with a way to appeal the company's decision.

Instagram users no longer need fear waking up to find that their account has been disabled due to some perceived infraction of the rules of the photo sharing site.

If that idea makes you anxious that your edgy content will get flagged, you're in luck: Instagram is also rolling out a new notification policy, in which it will warn users if their account is at risk of being disabled. The app has a dedicated notification system to alert the user about the same and they can appeal directly to Instagram through it to look into the content that it has taken down.


Instagram is strengthening its moderation policies, but will now start warning users who violate rules before banning their accounts.

"Similarly to how policies are enforced on Facebook, this change will allow us to enforce our policies more consistently and hold people accountable for what they post on Instagram". Before Instagram scraps years of your accumulated cat pictures and brunch shots, you'll receive a notification explaining why a post was removed and what you can do to plead your case. But if you've previously been flagged by the Facebook-owned company for one violation or another, then you better pay close attention. According to the new update, users will now be warned by Instagram regarding their account deletion.

However, users will get a chance to appeal deleted content and disabled accounts from within the app instead of having to go through the Help Center.


You have to make useful changes to your Instagram's feed to match up with the company's policies and guidelines. The posts that have been removed in error will be restored, says Instagram.

Many social media critics have lauded Instagram for these changes.


Other reports by iNewsToday

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER