Delle Donne and A’ja Wilson are All-Star captains

Ross Houston
July 13, 2019

Wilson may feel pressure to draft her two teammates for the game when her team faces a group led by Elena Delle Donne, who is a captain for the second straight season. Entering her seventh WNBA season, Delle Donne has been named to six All-Star teams.

The WNBA also announced Las Vegas' Bill Laimbeer and Washington's Mike Thibault as the coaches of the game.

Delle Donne's team lost to Candace Parker's squad past year in the All-Star contest.

Delle Donne and Wilson received the most fan votes during the starter selection process.

Natasha Howard of Seattle, Connecticut's Jonquel Jones, Liz Cambage of Las Vegas and Brittney Griner of Las Vegas are the other frontcourt starters.

The 23-year-old second year guard joins Kayla McBride of the Las Vegas Aces, Jewell Loyd of the Seattle Storm and Chelsea Gray of the Los Angeles Sparks as backcourt starters. Cambage, McBride and Gray have made it for the third time.

The WNBA added festivities for the night before the All-Star Game with a 3-point shootout, skills competition and beach party. Howard and Nurse are the only ones making their All-Star debuts. The 12 reserves will be announced Monday. Fan voting makes up half of the determination, while current players and a media panel share the remainder evenly. They are voted on by league coaches. On July 7, she recorded the eighth regular-season triple-double in WNBA history.

"That would earn me huge cool points", she said.

The All-Star Game is slated for July 27 at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas. Thibault's Mystics are guaranteed to have the league's second-best record through July 12, so he will guide Wilson's team.

Laimbeer, a two-time WNBA Coach of the Year (2003, 2015), has earned All-Star head coaching honors for the third time. Laimbeer is a two-time WNBA Coach of the Year (2003, 2015), while Thibault is a three-time victor (2006, 2008, 2013).

Other reports by iNewsToday