Facebook ''unsend' feature to enable you to delete messages within 10 minutes

Yolanda Curtis
November 9, 2018

The note mentions the option to remove a message from a chat thread after being sent.

You'd be hard pressed to find someone who hasn't accidentally sent a message to the wrong person in Facebook Messenger.

If your recipient is looking at their phone when you message them, or if they open the app before you can undo your action, there's not much you can do to take back your words. The features is noted as "coming soon" in the release notes for version 191.0 for iOS.


The "unsend" feature allocates the sender a fair amount of time to reconsider their sent message and provides the ability to retract the message for both the sender and receiver.

"Users would be given just 10 minutes to jump in and delete their most recently sent message". Well, thanks to Facebook and an impending feature, that dream will soon become a reality.The technology was already being implemented on the app in regards to founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg's messages, but it now looks like all users will be able to do the same, according to The Verge.

Conflicting message aside, it would seem like a pretty tight window, compared to the implementation by other apps.


Earlier last month, it was reported that Facebook was working on a feature that allows you to unsend Messenger messages.

Other messaging services, including Facebook's own WhatsApp, have the same option, though it gives users an hour to delete any embarrassing/drunken/threatening communications. Gmail allows users the time intervals of 5, 10, 20, and 30 seconds to take back that drunk email you never should have sent in the first place.


Other reports by iNewsToday

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER