Facebook hoax: Cloned account message is a fake

Andrew Cummings
October 8, 2018

A Facebook clone means a spammer has created a new account under your name, often times using your pictures and friend requesting your friends. If you see another you out there, you can click on the "Report this profile" button on the bogus account's page to have it reported to Facebook.

The suspicious message is considered to be spam, which is different from being hacked, Facebook told WSYR-TV.

The messages begin with "Hi.... I actually got another friend request from you yesterday...which I ignored so you may want to check your account..."

Officials say forwarding the message only makes it worse.


The message claims the sender has received a second friend request from you and warns you to check your account.

A good way to see if there is, in fact, a fake you out there trying to steal all your friends is to just do a search for your name.

A new Facebook scam is making headlines across the country. There are no bugs or hacks linked to it, it is just an annoying chain message. I had to do the people individually.

The warning spread in the form of a message, sent from a friend or "friend".


A spokesperson told the Sun: "We've heard that some people are seeing posts or messages about accounts being cloned on Facebook". Please DO NOT accept a 2nd friend request from "me".

There was a cloning epidemic on Facebook 18 months or so ago.

HOAX: If you get this message on Facebook, do not forward. Do not forward it to all your friends.

But chances are, based on a small sampling of my friends and colleagues, the messages are coming from your friend's real account, passed along to you on the wind of good intentions.


Other reports by iNewsToday

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER