Nintendo will charge you to play Mario Kart online from next week

Yolanda Curtis
September 13, 2018

Check back here tomorrow for all of the news from the Nintendo Direct and if Animal Crossing gets announced, please pinch us so we know that we're not dreaming.

North America's Direct kicks off at 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET, while Europe's stream begins at 11 PM BST.


In addition to downloadable titles and extras available only to subscribers, Switch Online will serve as the console's gateway for online-enabled features regardless of game type. Individual membership is separated into three tiers: $3.99 for one month; $7.99 for three months and $19.99 for 12 months. The service, which was announced shortly after the Switch itself, will go live on September 18. Nintendo will also offer a family bundle for $34.99 that allows up to eight people to use the same subscription.

Are you excited for Switch Online to hit, or are you just disappointed that you'll have to pay to play online soon? We've seen lots of evidence over the past week that the new date for the Direct will be September 13th, and now we finally have official word from Nintendo on the matter.


More information on all of this will be revealed tomorrow during the Nintendo Direct.

Nintendo's also teasing "20 NES games with added online play for the first time ever" as soon as the service debuts, but so far hasn't indicated which titles we'll be getting first.


Other reports by iNewsToday

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER