Imran Khan defeats Shehbaz Sharif to become Pakistans 22nd Prime Minister

Cheryl Sanders
August 17, 2018

Sidhu said it was Vajpayee who worked really hard for a cordial and harmonious relationship between India and Pakistan which was symbolized by the friendship bus service between Delhi and Lahore.

Pakistan's parliament has elected Khan to lead the government.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan has been elected as Prime Minister of Pakistan.

A former Member of Parliament from the Bhartiya Janta Party, the 54-year-old also expressed grief on the demise of former Indian Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Pakistani politician Imran Khan, chief of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party, addresses an election rally in Karachi, Pakistan on July 22, 2018.

Imran Khan on Friday tendered a written apology to the Election Commission of Pakistan for violating the secrecy of the ballot, removing the last hurdle for his swearing-in.

Meanwhile, Imran Khan will take oath as Prime Minister at a ceremony at Aiwan-e-Sadr in Islamabad Saturday morning. His only rival, Shahbaz Sharif of the ousted Pakistan Muslim League, won 96 votes, Qaiser said.

The former cricketer, who captained Pakistan to World Cup victory in 1992, won the July 25 election but fell short of an outright majority, forcing him to partner with smaller parties and independents in order to form a government.

PTI candidates were also voted Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly this week, putting Khan in a strong position to carry forward his legislative agenda.

Other reports by iNewsToday