Former No 1 Karolina Pliskova bashes umpire's chair with racquet after loss

Ross Houston
May 17, 2018

Enraged by a line call that had gone against her at a key moment, Pliskova sensationally reacted to losing her match against Maria Sakkari by repeatedly striking the umpire's chair with her racquet, making a hole in the process.

With both players locked at 5-5 in the decisive set, Pliskova smashed home a victor which was incorrectly called out much to the dismay of the Czech Republic star.


Pliskova duly lost the game to go 6-5 down, and Sakkari served out to win 7-5 in the third set.

Sakkari visibly winced as Pliskova vented her fury, taking several steps backwards before the Czech had stormed off, before shaking the umpire's hand.


Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna, who is also a professional player, threw her support behind her sibling by calling out the horrendous umpire decision. The Romanian was forced to save four break points in her opening service game but went on to claim 12 consecutive games to avenge her Indian Wells loss to eventual champion Osaka in March. Former world No 1 Sharapova struck 41 winners as she rallied back from a set down to edge her Slovakian opponent 3-6, 6-4, 6-2 in a thrilling two and a half hour contest.

The Czech athlete has racked up more than $11 million in prize money despite never winning a grand slam title to date, but has managed to take home 10 Women's Tennis Association tournament trophies in her career to solidify herself as a top name in the profession.


Other reports by iNewsToday

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER