WhatsApp changes its 'delete for everyone' feature

Pablo Tucker
March 12, 2018

Commenters pointed out this is 2 seconds. Then just tap and hold the message or messages and select "Delete" (trash bin icon) from the menu on top of your screen. However, some users have already taken advantage of the "Delete for Everyone" feature via modded versions of the app to delete messages dating back to three years.

What's more, if you do delete a message, the other people in the conversation see a "message deleted" alert - so they know that you've said something you've regretted, and may ask you some awkward questions about it. Now, it seems that the popular messaging app is planning of rolling out another feature "Block Revoke Request".


Users originally only had 8 minutes and 32 seconds (512 seconds) to reconsider their actions, but in the last week the company has made a decision to increase the limit to 4096 seconds, that is around 1 hour 8 minutes.

According to WABetaInfo report, the feature works by sending a message to the recipient whenever the sender tries to delete a message for everyone.


Even with the limitations, having longer to change your mind about a message has to be a good move for users.

The algorithm has been improved to perform the delete operation only if the current date is less than 24 hours of the date of the saved message.


WhatsApp beta testers using Android devices have received the new update v2.18.74 with the aforementioned feature. This makes the feature to delete message restricted to the official limit and doesn't allow any modded versions to extend the limit through an unofficial means. The update is a step to curb exploitation of a feature that was deemed useful by those using the platform.

Other reports by iNewsToday

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER