Florida Gators' Scott Stricklin joins College Football Playoff committee

Ross Houston
January 17, 2018

Castiglione is one of six new members on the 13-person committee.

Boivin worked as a sports columnist for the Arizona Republic and now works at Arizona State's journalism school.

The College Football Playoff selection committee is always under the microscope and, while a place inside the group would be an impressive accomplishment, it comes with real responsibility. Each member serves one three-year term, so Castiglione will be serving for several years to come. Hocutt was replaced by OR athletic director Rob Mullens as chairman.

Castiglione, who has served three terms as chair of the Big 12 Board of Athletic Directors, has developed into an OU icon since taking over his current position in 1998, overseeing the football program's resurgence after hiring Bob Stoops, then ushering in Lincoln Riley's era last offseason.

Joe C. replaces Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt, Stansbury replaces Clemson AD Dan Radakovich and Stricklin replaces former Arkansas AD Jeff Long.

The committee is made up of 12 members, plus executive director Bill Hancock, an OU graduate and Hobart native, who is not granted a vote in the selection process.

Paola Boivin (former sports journalist), Joe Castiglione (AD at Oklahoma), Ken Hatfield (retired college football coach), Ronnie Lott (former college football player), Todd Stansbury (AD at Georgia Tech) and Scott Stricklin (AD at Florida) have all been added to the committee. Lott played at USC and enjoyed a 14-year National Football League career.

Stricklin, 47, was named AD at Florida in 2016 after six years at Mississippi State.

Boivin, an IL graduate, worked as a columnist at the Los Angeles Daily News and Arizona Republic for more than 20 years. Stansbury is Georgia Tech's AD, previously at Oregon State and UCF.

Castiglione, as you know, has been AD at Oklahoma for 20 years.

Stricklin replaces former Arkansas AD Jeff Long as the SEC's representative on the committee.

Other reports by iNewsToday