Roseanne reboot sets premiere date for ABC

Carla Harmon
December 16, 2017

The sitcom returns to ABC in 2018.

In August, the ABC's president, Channing Dungey, remarked that the revival will more strongly resemble the show's first few seasons, rather than Roseanne's controversial ninth and final season.

"Roseanne" will air in its regular time slot at 8 p.m.

The original "Roseanne" ran on ABC from 1988 to 1997 and was lauded for its depiction of a relatable working-class family in IL.

Barr will return as Roseanne Conner, with John Goodman as Dan Conner, Laurie Metcalf as Jackie Harris, Michael Fishman as D.J. Connor and Sara Gilbert as Darlene Conner-Healy. Earlier this week, the show's executive producer, Bruce Helford, teased that watching the upcoming reboot will be an extra-special experience for fans. (As long as the Godzilla toy's still there.) He added, "We want everybody to see something that doesn't really exist on TV anymore - an honest family". ABC announced in May it would produce a 10th eight-episode season. Sarah Chalke, who took over for Goranson to play Becky in later seasons, will also appear in a different role. Actor Johnny Galecki, who rose to fame in "Big Bang Theory" after his "Roseanne" stint, will also be back in the reboot as David.

Other reports by iNewsToday