Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield named AP Player of Year

Ross Houston
December 8, 2017

Mayfield received 51 first-place votes from the 56 AP college football poll voters who submitted player of the year ballots, and a total of 157 points.

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield was named the 2017 Davey O'Brien Award victor Thursday night during ESPN's college football awards show. Fitzpatrick also won the Jim Thorpe Award, which is given to the nation's top defensive back, becoming just the third player to do so. He is the leading candidate to win the Heisman trophy, which is announced Saturday night. Not only has he put up video game-like numbers for Oklahoma, but he led the Sooners to a Big 12 title, 12-1 record and a spot in the College Football Playoff.

This shouldn't come as much of a surprise as the Sooners' star passed for 4,340 yards, 41 touchdowns and five interceptions during the 2017 season and was clearly the best quarterback in college football.

He joins Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous winners from Oklahoma. I have to give a lot of the credit to my teammates and coaches, they are the reason that I am in position to win this award and I could not have done it without them.

Mayfield played high school football in Austin, Texas, but did not receive a scholarship offer from the Longhorns.

Mayfield beat out another Big 12 quarterback in Oklahoma State's Mason Rudolph, and Ohio State's J.T. Barrett for the Davey O'Brien Award. Those three awards were presented to him Thursday night at ESPN's college football awards show in Atlanta.

Other reports by iNewsToday