Icelanders already looking to book flights for FIFA World Cup in Russian Federation

Ross Houston
October 11, 2017

While Argentina had Messi, who was able to prevent his side's failure to qualify for the Russia World Cup, there were some shocking revelations made last night which saw some of the biggest footballing nations bowing out of the competition before it actually started.

As excitement continues to build ahead of the 2018 World Cup in Russia, FiFA Tuesday reported that more than 1.5 million tickets for the tornament have already been requested. Teams from England, Brazil, Iran, Japan, Mexico, Belgium, South Korea, Saudi Arabia and Germany have already qualified, with Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland still hoping to earn a place. While Poland followed on Sunday, Spain secured qualification on Friday.

New Zealand, South American representative in play-off in event of elimination of Peru It will be only team to represent Oceania in World Cup.

The Uruguayans sealed second place with a 4-2 win over Bolivia at the Estadio Centenario in Montevideo, while Colombia and Peru played out a 1-1 draw at the Estadio Nacional in Lima to finish fourth and fifth respectively.

Alexis Sanchez's Chile, meanwhile, were eliminated after suffering a 3-0 defeat against Brazil. For Egypt it will be a first World Cup appearance since 1990 and only a third overall.

Mexico, Costa Rica and Panama, who took first three rows in group, put World Cup ticket in his pocket.

The Egyptian national team has been awarded World Cup for first time since 1990. Read on to find out which nations have qualified for next year's tournament!

Iceland has earned right to join World Cup for first time in history of European Championships.

FIFA World Cup 2010 finalist Netherlands, Copa America reigning champions Chile and U.S. topped the list of nations who've failed to qualify for the Russia World Cup. La Albaciete need to beat Ecuador in their final qualification game to finish inside the Top 4 in their group and grab an automatic place at Russian Federation 2018.

As things stand Portugal, Italy, Denmark and Croatia would be seeded.

Other reports by iNewsToday