MLB's Opening Day 2018 will be different than ever before

Ross Houston
September 13, 2017

The 2018 Major League Baseball season will begin on March 29, the earliest start in the sport's history excluding worldwide openers.

Each team has already released their schedule, so check out their Twitter accounts or team sites for more detailed info on when and where you can see your hometown nine.

The time of Cincinnati's Opening Day will be announced at a later date.

The simplification of Opening Day isn't the only big change to the schedule. On Thursday, March 29, all 30 teams will open action, including the Yankees at the Blue Jays in Toronto and the Mets at home against the Cardinals.

Gone is the season starting with a Sunday night game on ESPN.

The earlier opening to the 2018 Major League Baseball season is meant to add more open dates during the regular season, according to Major League Baseball officials. In recent years, the season has started as late as April 6.

The 2018 season will mark the first under the new scheduling format agreed to as part of the 2017-2021 Basic Agreement between MLB and the Major League Baseball Players Association (MLBPA). Speaking of April 17th, the Oakland Athletics will be offering free admission to fans for their game against the Chicago White Sox on that Tuesday in honor of the 50th anniversary of the Oakland Coliseum's first game.

The season begins the Thursday before Easter, and six teams will have Easter Sunday off, which is an odd baseball occurrence. The 2018 season will mark the first time since 1968 that every Major League Baseball team will open on the same date. Furthermore, several seasons have started off with March games held in overseas venues, like when the Dodgers took on the Diamondbacks at the Sydney Cricket Ground back in 2014.

Interleague matchups for 2018 feature the AL East vs. the NL East, the AL Central vs. the NL Central and the AL West vs. the NL West.

Thankfully, MLB changed its approach for the 2018 schedule, which will feature a full slate of 15 games on the first official day of the season.

Other reports by iNewsToday