Angelo Mathews ruled out of first Test against Pakistan

Ross Houston
September 21, 2017

Five of them won the titles- Australia five times, both West Indies and India have won twice, Pakistan and Sri Lanka once each, in the eleven editions of tournament.

England opener Jonny Bairstow's maiden one-day global century ensured West Indies suffered a seven-wicket defeat at Old Trafford on Tuesday that meant they could no longer gain direct entry to the 2019 World Cup. "But I want to say a big, big thank you to our fans who've kept faith with us when things looked bleak".

He further added, "ICC events have always brought out the magic in Sri Lanka cricket, and I look forward to proving that once again".

Sri Lanka's new selection panel have named two uncapped players within their first squad as Sadeera Samarawickrama and Roshen Silva are both given the chance to make their global bows. We have a clear plan toward the World Cup, and we will work hard at achieving each step.

Sri Lanka are now in grave turmoil after suffering a 9-0 drubbing by India across all formats in the last series. India routed the hosts 9-0 to set a record win against Sri Lanka, a feat which has never happened before.

However, their loss means Sri Lanka, 86 points, are now the the last team to automatically qualify for the World Cup to be hosted by England.

An unbeaten century from Jonny Bairstow helped England stroll to a seven-wicket victory in Tuesday's first match at Old Trafford.

The next World Cup, the fifth to be staged in Britain, takes place from May 30-July 15 2019.

Other reports by iNewsToday