Mike McCray Named To 2017 Butkus Award Watch List

Cheryl Sanders
July 17, 2017

Fourteen Big Ten Conference students are appearing on the 2017 preseason watch lists for the Butkus Award (given annually to the nation's top linebacker) and the Paul Hornung Award (presented each year to the country's most versatile college football player), according to Monday's announcements by the Butkus Foundation and Louisville Sports Commission, respectively.

Aside from his productive on-the-field performance, Johnson is a member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll and was first team CoSIDA Academic All-District. At the conclusion of spring practice, Wilson received co-Most Improved Offensive Player honors along with wide receiver Aaron Young. The Fairburn, Ga., native returned three kickoffs for touchdowns and racked up 38.3 yards per return in 2015. Pierson-El has eight career returns of at least 25 yards. Mirroring the legendary "51" pro jersey of the award's namesake Dick Butkus whom NFL Films considers the best defensive player in football history, each watch list features 51 players identified by a 51-person selection panel of deeply experienced coaches, talent evaluators and journalists.

Texas Longhorns junior linebacker Malik Jefferson's name has been added to yet another preseason watch list.

Berry scored a touchdown and averaged 32.9 yards on 14 kick returns last season.

Duke season tickets are available online at www.GoDuke.com/FootballTix or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 919-681-2583.

Other reports by iNewsToday