Dhawan to replace injured Vijay for Sri Lanka Test tour

Cheryl Sanders
July 17, 2017

Injured opener Murali Vijay was Monday ruled out from India's upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka, the cricket board said Monday, with Shikhar Dhawan named as his replacement.

India's squad for the Test series against Sri Lanka: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, W Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, M Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund. Vijay has complained of a pain in his right wrist during a preparatory match, and has been advised by BCCI officials to go back to the rehabilitation program.

The right-handed batsman, 33, underwent surgery on his wrist in England following the four-test series against Australia and missed the 10th edition of the Indian Premier League twenty20 tournament.

Dhawan was the highest run-scorer at the ICC Champions Trophy in June but was ousted from the Test squad by Abhinav Mukund.

Murali Vijay is one of the best Test batsmen in India and also one of the most reliable opening batsmen in the world, in Test cricket. The Virat Kohli-led Team India departs for a full-fledged tour consisting three Tests, five ODIs and a one-off T20 global on July 19. This is the first time the two countries will be playing a full series (includes all three formats) in eight years.

India's tour of Sri Lanka will begin Galle on July 26. The lone T20I will be also played at the same venue in Colombo on September 6. He was out of action for nearly three-and-a-half months and had missed the entire IPL season with the Dharamsala Test against Australia in March being his last competitive match.

Other reports by iNewsToday