Sonia divests Digvijay of charge of Karnataka, Goa

Cheryl Sanders
April 30, 2017

Earlier this year, the Congress party had won 17 seats in the February 4 elections in Goa and despite emerging from the polls as the single largest party in the state, had failed to form a government.

Parrikar, who later took the oath of the Chief Minister had even mockingly thanked Digvijaya Singh for failing to garner support and form a government in the state, despite being the single largest party after the election.

The grand old party has appointed A Chella Kumar as the new in-charge of Goa while KC Venugopal will take charge as in-charge of the Karnataka. According to ANI, A Chella Kumar has been made Goa Incharge for Congress, replacing the senior leader.

Elections will be held to the Karnataka assembly in the first half of next year.

The dropping of Mistry, who is known to be close to Rahul Gandhi, was announced when he was made a member of Congress central election authority, a post that bars him from holding any other party posts.

The inaction on the part of Singh evoked widespread criticism within the party, which accused the BJP of creating "artificial majority" to form its government.

Digvijaya Singh continues to be general secretary incharge of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

For Karnataka, Rahul has appointed a youthful team loyal to him Kerala MP K.C.Venugopal, a twotime Lok Sabha MP from Alapuzzaha, has been appointed general secretary in-charge of Karnataka.

In Goa, Chellakumar will be assisted by Amit Deshmukh, the son of former Maharashtra Chief Minister late Vilasrao Deshmukh. But despite that, BJP led by Manohar Parrikar formed the government in coalition with regional parties.

Singh, who took nearly 24 hours on March 12, day after the poll results were out, to elect its CLP leader, had and rued the fact the Congress did not form a pre-poll alliance with Goa Forward party led by Vijai Sardesai, which eventually sided with BJP. The Congress is in power in the state.

"Mullapally Ramachandran will be its Chairman and Bhubaneshwar Kalita and Madhusudan Mistry will be its members", Dwivedi said in another statement.

Other reports by iNewsToday